Meet your 8th Vector Coordinators: Crystal and Stephen!

Each year, the 8th Vector is assigned coordinators to assist in managing posts and recruiting quality articles. This year, we are very excited to be authoring the blog and working with each of you to capture your voice and highlight your story. Here’s a little more about us:

Crystal HamiltonCrystal

I have been a member of the Graduate Student and New Professional Community of Practice for three years. I received my Bachelors degree in Finance from Old Dominion University and my Masters in Educational Leadership – Higher Education Administration from Valdosta State University. I have mostly worked with campus events, reservations, scheduling, and building facilities during my time in Higher Education. My interest in the 8th Vector sparked while I was the Scholarly Initiatives Coordinator for the Ambassador program couple of years ago. I am looking forward to assisting everyone who is interested in publishing in the 8th  Vector!

Stephen Fleming

Stephen

I have been a member of ACPA and the Graduate Student and New Professional Community of Practice for four years. My education has been primarily at Rowan University in New Jersey where I completed my dual Bachelors degree in Mathematics and Elementary Education and my Masters in School Counseling. I am excited to begin a new journey at Temple University in Philadelphia as I pursue my Ed.D. in Higher Education. A majority of my background has been in Residence Life and Housing, but I have more recently transitioned to academic affairs in my role as Assistant Dean for the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at Rowan University. I am very excited to be working with the 8th Vector as I have had an enjoyable experience publishing in it in the past and I hope I can provide a similar experience for anyone interested in exploring their professional writing.

 

This year, we have two main goals: to incorporate themes into the blog posts and to inform graduate students and new professionals on ways in which they can engage in publishing research-orientated pieces. We will have many themes before the convention and we encourage you to target those that resonate with you. To learn more about our themes, visit https://8thvector.wordpress.com/about-the-8th-vector/.

We are already accepting submissions for our July/August postings! The summer is a great time to focus on writing and engaging in professional development. Knowing that many of you may be in transition between jobs, our theme is Navigating Your First Position. All submissions do not have to focus on this theme—we are simply giving direction to a topic that we hope to strongly represent. Submissions must be submitted to 8thvector@gmail.com. We are accepting submissions on an ongoing basis.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at 8thvector@gmail.com. We are excited to help you meet your writing and publishing goals. Have a wonderful summer!

Leave a Reply

